Permissions Guides Overview
Permissions enable portal Admin to give individual Users and/or Roles granular administrative Permissions. Permissions provide the ability to control who can view, add, edit, or delete information within portal features.
When a user has multiple roles, Pathify operates on the assumption that a user gets the highest level of permissions the most permissive role allows. For example, if a user is both a staff member and has portal Admin privileges, the permissions will reflect those of a portal Admin user.
Adding, Denying, and Revoking Permissions
Permissions can only be granted, not denied.
Through roles, object permissions, or individual user permissions, admin can grant individual users permissions that their assigned role would not allow. There are no permissions that specifically deny access, and permissions cannot be created that work in this manner.
Permissions, particularly the permissions to add, use, or create, follow the rule of "off by default."
Unless a user is assigned the portal Admin permissions, the user does not have permission unless it is specifically given to them.
Permissions will change as a user's role changes.
Pathify Portal Admin
A user can be given portal Admin permissions by checking the "Pathify Admin" checkbox in Admin Plus.
If a user has portal Admin privileges, the user has the following permissions automatically:
- Ability to add, delete, use, and view any integration on the Pathify platform.
- Ability to create roles, users, and set object permissions. This also includes writing queries for unique permissions.
"Portal Admin" is NOT synonymous with "Superuser." Only a Pathify employee has Superuser access.
Once enabled, some integrations like Zoom are visible only to portal Admins, unless permissions are expanded. In other words, the only users who can see the Zoom integration are portal Admins, unless permission is specifically given to users in a role category.